HHS Finalizes Core Set of 26 Medicaid Quality Measures

HHS has issued a final notice outlining an initial core set of 26 quality measures for Medicaid-eligible adults.

The quality measures have been released for voluntary annual reporting by state Medicaid programs, health insurers and managed care entities that enter into contracts with Medicaid.


Under President Obama's healthcare reform law, HHS was required to set forth quality measures for Medicaid patients by Jan. 1. HHS must also consequently develop a standardized reporting format and procedures to encourage voluntary reporting by state Medicaid programs by Jan. 2013. In addition to making appropriate changes to the quality measures on a yearly basis, HHS must collect, analyze and make publicly available the information reported by the participating states by Sept. 30, 2014.

Some of the quality measures are already being used by other federal or public-sector reporting programs, such as the Medicare Physician Quality Reporting System and the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive programs.

To view a full list of the 26 Medicaid quality measures, click here (pdf).

Related Articles on Quality Reporting:

AHRQ: Some Healthcare Experts Find Quality Reporting Websites Difficult to Use

NQF Releases List of Final 29 Serious Reportable Events

CMS to Consider 366 Quality Measures for 2012 Calendar Year

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars