5 stages of patient satisfaction and patient frustration

Brian Zimmerman - Print  | 

SCI Solutions, a provider of patient care management technology, created an infographic illustrating the five stages of patient satisfaction and patient frustration.

Here the five stages of patient frustration.

1. Scared and confused: This stage can occur when patients are unsure about what is expected of them.

2. Frustrated: Patients can feel frustrated when they struggle to manage their care.

3. Waiting: This happens when a patient has not been given sufficient information during the care process.

4. Surprise: Patients can experience unwelcome surprises in the form of unexpected charges.

5. Angry: When a patient experiences this stage, they may consider switching providers.

Here are the five stages of patient satisfaction.

1. Reassured: Patients can experience this stage upon leaving their physicians office well-informed about the next steps required of them.

2. Respected: Patients can feel respected when tests are scheduled at their preferred location.

3. In control: Online scheduling tools and resources can help a patient feel like they are in control of their care.

4. Prepared: Text message appointment reminders can help a patient feel prepared.

5. Empowered: The end result of a satisfactory care experience.

To download the infographic, click here.

More articles on patient engagement: 
'What matters to you?' Day is Tuesday: 5 things to know about the patient engagement-focused day 
How to be like Amazon with your patient experience 
MetroHealth taps Chemistry for advertising, marketing support

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.

To receive the latest hospital and health system business and legal news and analysis from Becker's Hospital Review, sign-up for the free Becker's Hospital Review E-weekly by clicking here.