Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact takes effect Jan. 19: 5 things to know

An enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact set to take effect next month includes nearly 30 states but excludes others, according to The Providence Journal.

Here are five things to know.

1. The eNLC is a new version of the original Nurse Licensure Compact of 2015.

2. In August, the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators revealed the new version is slated for implementation Jan. 19.

3. Under the new version, nurses with one multistate license may practice in their home state and other eNLC states, whether that's in person or through telehealth, the commission said in a statement.

4. The eNLC states are:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • Wisconsin

5. Colorado and New Mexico, which joined the original NLC, were not part of the eNLC as of Dec. 17, according to The Providence Journal.

Read the full report here.

Editor's note: This story was updated Dec. 21 to reflect that Wisconsin recently became a member of the eNLC

More articles on human capital and risk:
20 hospitals hiring nurses
Taking a risk to better manage OB risk
Job cuts in healthcare, pharma industries soar in 2017: 3 things to know

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2018. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months