AORN announces 2017 election results: 4 things to know

  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large

The Association of periOperative Registered Nurses announced the results of its elections for the organization's nominating committee and board of directors, according to an emailed release.

The organization announced the names of the new committee members, officers and directors to AORN members during the association's annual business meeting April 5.

Here are four things to know.

1. Nathalie Walker, RN, a member of the Louisiana Nursing Supply and Demand Commission, a sub-committee of the Health Works Commission of Louisiana, has taken the reins as AORN's new president. Ms. Walker has been a perioperative nurse and an AORN member for 24 years and held multiple leadership positions within the association.

2. Newly elected officers:

• President-elect: Stephanie Davis, RN, vice president of surgical services for the Nashville, Tenn.-based Hospital Corporation of America.
• Treasurer: Jane Flowers, MSN, RN, nurse manager for sterile processing at the University of Maryland Shore Regional Health at Easton, Dorchester.

3. Newly elected board members:

• Vicki Barnett, MSN, RN, director of surgical services at Northside Hospital in Atlanta.
• James Bowers, BSN, RN, a clinical coordinator and nurse educator at West Virginia University Medicine in Morgantown.
• Evangeline Dennis, BSN, RN, director of patient care practice at Atlanta-based Emory Healthcare.
• Brenda Larkin, RN, a clinical nurse specialist at Aurora Lakeland Medical Center in Elkhorn, Wis., and Aurora Lakeland Medical Center in Burlington, Wis.

4. Newly elected nominating committee members:

• Karen M. Knapp, BSN, RN, a travel nurse who works as both a consultant and an RN first assistant.
• Nikki Washington, MSN, a clinical manager at the DeBakey Heart and Vascular Catheterization Laboratory in Houston.

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars