AAFP appoints board of directors

The American Academy of Family Physicians, which represents 124,900 physicians and medical students nationwide, elected Wednesday its 2016-17 board of directors at its annual meeting. 

The following physicians will hold AAFP board seats this year.  

  • John Meigs, Jr., MD, chief of staff, Bibb Medical Center (Centreville, Ala.) — President 
  • Michael Munger, MD, medical director, Saint Luke's South Primary Care (Overland Park, Kan.) — President-Elect 
  • Wanda Filer, MD, founder and president, Strategic Health Institute (New York) — Board Chair
  • Javette Orgain, MD, associate professor of clinical family medicine, University of Illinois Chicago, medical director/consultant, Village of Park Forest (Ill.) Health Department — Speaker of the Congress of Delegates 
  • Alan Schwartzstein, MD, clinical assistant professor, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health (Madison) — Vice Speaker of the Congress of Delegates 
  • Douglas Henley, MD, board member, AAFP Foundation — Executive Vice President and CEO
  • Mott Blair, MD, regional medical director, Vidant Health (Greenville, N.C.), affiliate assistant professor of family medicine, East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine (Greenville) — Director 
  • John Cullen, MD, chief of staff, director of emergency medical services, Providence Valdez (Alaska) Medical Center, associate clinical professor, Dartmouth University (Hanover, N.H.)  — Director 
  • Lynne Lillie, MD, physician, Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minn.) — Director  
  • John Bender, MD, senior partner and CEO, Miramont Family Medicine (Fort Collins, Colo.), associate professor of family medicine, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center (Aurora)— Director 
  • Gary LeRoy, MD, associate dean for student affairs and admission, associate professor of family medicine, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine (Dayton, Ohio) — Director  
  • Carl Olden, MD, senior family physician, Pacific Crest Family Medicine (Yakima, Wash.), medical director for quality assurance, utilization review and medical staff services, Yakima (Wash.) Valley Memorial Hospital, clinical instructor in family medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine (Seattle), Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences (Yakima) — Director 
  • Robert Raspa, MD, faculty member, St. Vincent's Family Medicine Center (Jacksonville, Fla.) —  Director  
  • Leonard Reeves, MD, associate dean, Northwest Clinical Campus, Medical College of Georgia (Rome)—Director  
  • Ada Stewart, MD, lead provider and HIV specialist, Eau Claire Cooperative Health Centers (Columbia, S.C.)— Director
  • Matthew Burke, MD, chair of governmental advocacy, Massachusetts Academy of Family Physicians — Director  
  • Stewart Decker, MD, — Resident Director
  • Lauren Abdul-Majeed, student, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine — Student Director


More articles on leadership and management:

The effects of CMS' star ratings: 5 things hospital leaders should know
Former Mayo CEO Gene Mayberry dies at 87
With potential exodus at federal agency, billions of dollars in research grants in jeopardy

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2019. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months