HIMSS launches program to measure the value of health IT: 4 insights into HIMSS Value Score

  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large

The Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society has established an international quality measurement for the value of health IT.

Here are four things to know about HIMSS Value Score.

1. The Value Score is designed to build off of HIMSS' Value Suite and HIMSS Analytics' Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model.

2. The Value Score standards are meant to help healthcare providers maximize the use of IT for improved clinical and financial outcomes.

3. The Value Score includes four different tiers including:

•    Baseline Value. This tier indicates a provider had adopted advanced health IT capabilities.
•    Perceived Value. This tier indicates organization and understanding of health IT value.
•    Outcomes. At this level, a provider will have demonstrated clinical, financial, operational and personal outcomes.
•    Leadership. The final level indicates a provider has demonstrable outcomes that help move the healthcare industry forward.

4. "With the move toward value-based care, the international healthcare community can now look beyond initial adoption and toward a broader, all-encompassing way to measure the clinical and financial value of health IT," said Stephen Lieber, president and CEO of HIMSS. "The Value Score is a combination of HIMSS' core competencies and is the natural next step in the continual evolution toward better care and outcomes for patients and providers.

Copyright © 2021 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Whitepapers

Featured Webinars