CMS announces Next Generation ACO participants

Emily Rappleye (Twitter) - Print  | 

CMS has officially launched its Next Generation Accountable Care Organization Model this year with the selection of the first 21 participating ACOs.

For those familiar with the ACO world, these organizations may sound familiar. The ACOs selected have significant experience with accountable care through initiatives such as the Medicare Shared Savings Program and the Pioneer program. ACOs in the program will take on higher levels of financial risk and reward in an effort to move more fee-for-service Medicare payments into alternative payment models by the end of the year.

Here are the 21 organizations selected to participate in program in 2016.

For more information, visit the CMS page for NGACOs.


More articles on accountable care:

7 accountable care, shared savings agreements in November and December
How will ACOs grow over time?
How to win over physicians to value-based care: 3 foundational principles

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.